In Control

December 30, 1989
WBLS (107.5 FM)
New York, NY, USA

This is the legendary DJ Pete Rock and Marley Marl with Heavy D and Grap Luva in the studio [with T Money and Doctor Dré joining late]. Heavy talks about touring, acting, working with Levert [and broadening audience to include adults], his Jamaican heritage and his lil cousin G, ‘Nobody know who Grap is’….

The Big Tyme LP was released June 1989, The Hevster mentions that the next releases were due in September 1990, yet probably due to the sad passing of Trouble T Roy who died July 1990, Peaceful Journey wasn’t released until July 1991. Shouts to Jason Armitage for the tape.

Track List
  • Special Ed – One In A Million [Loose Talk In The Studio]
  • Heavy D – Somebody For Me
  • Mic Break – Heavy D in studio 8:40
  • Heavy D – Girls They Love Me
  • Mic Break – Heavy D in studio 15:30
  • Heavy D – Ez Duz It, Do It Ez
  • Mic Break – Heavy D
  • Ads:
    AJ Lester
    Billy Dee Williams/ Karyn White – Colt 45
  • Mic Break – Heavy D
  • Wrecks N Effect – New Jack Swing
  • LL Cool J – Illegal Search
  • MC Lyte – Slave 2 The Rhythm
  • Mic Break – Heavy D
  • Jeff Redd – I Found Lovin
  • Jungle Brothers – Feelin Alright
  • Big Daddy Kane – I Get the Job Done
  • Grandmaster Flash – Adventures
  • Roxanne Shante – Live on Stage
  • De La Soul & Queen Latifah – Mama Gave Birth to the Soul Children
  • Brand Nubian – Feels So Good
  • 3rd Bass – Gas Face
  • Mic Break – Heavy D [Phone Calls]
  • Stezo – Freak The Funk [Vocal Mix]
  • Stezo – Freak The Funk [Dub Mix]
  • Countdown with T Money and Doctor Dre
  • Three Times Dope – Funky Dividends
- Irish Craig @ RandomRapRadio