Capital Rap Show

October 28, 1989
(95.8 FM)
London, England, UK

The worst thing about this 30 year old tape of the Capital Rap Show is the interference [at some points, opera bleeds in from another station, some things just cant be remastered]. The best thing is that Marley drops FIVE tracks that, to this day, have never been officially released: Marley & Flex/ Pete Rock & CL Smooth/ Intelligent Hoodlum, and one from the Have No Fear Swan Is Here full-length by Biz associate, TJ Swan [An album that according to sources never made it past the demo stage]. One cut, Mellow Love, utilises the same beat as the Doo-Doo, as Marley mentions. It’s one of those Capital Radio/WBLS LA Gear Rap Exchanges recorded in New York and broadcast in London.

Alotta them featured tracks like these unavailable cuts, tracks that have been uploaded by cheerleading ravioli-head bitin ass bloggers and ganking Glue-Tubers over the years, but here you can enjoy them with all their nerdery context.

ENORMONOID propers to Mr Winks, Rob and John.

Intelligent Hoodlum appears in the studio, reluctantly introduces an unreleased version of Party Animal [that doesnt feature the female vocals], chats about how ‘Malcolm X is his hero and idol’, and how ‘Biz had his car broken into’. NB: Marley also plays an unfinished version of Black & Proud. Did you know that Pete Rock & CL Smooths’ unreleased "Lethal Weapon" was due to feature on In Control Vol.2 ?! Now you do.

At 43:50 the self-titled super-producer mentions that this show is the ‘last show of the Capital FM/ LA Gear Rap Exchange‘, he follows up with comments about Red Alert and Chuck Chillout, how he ‘felt it was time for something new and innovative’ and how that was probably the reason that In Control was ‘the #1 show’. He also makes some evasive comments about Shan being ‘Past it’, highlighting just how tight they were all along, not very. DJ Clark Kent also features in the mix.

DJ Clark Kent set #1
  • Queen Latifah – Queen Of Royal Badness
  • Sugarhill Gang ‎– Rappers Delight [Hip Hop Mix/ Ben Liebrand Mix]
  • De La Soul – Eye Know [The Know It All Mix]
  • Chubb Rock – Stop That Train
  • Queen Latifah & Monie Love – Ladies First
  • Wrecks N Effect – New Jack Swing
  • Mic Break
  • Pete Rock & CL Smooth – Lethal Weapon [Unreleased]
  • Mic Break
  • LA Gear ad
  • Intelligent Hoodlum – Party Animal [Unreleased]
  • Intelligent Hoodlum – Interview
  • Intelligent Hoodlum – Black and Proud [Unreleased]
  • Intelligent Hoodlum – Interview
DJ Clark Kent set #2
  • Biz Markie – Spring Again
  • Heavy D – Somebody For Me
  • EPMD – Big Payback
  • De La Soul – Buddy
  • Nice & Smooth – Funky For You
  • Queen Latifah – A King And Queen Creation
  • Nice & Smooth – Sum Pimped Out Shit
  • Mic Break
  • TJ Swan – Mellow Love [Unreleased]
  • Marley Marl Feat Flex – Girl I was Wrong [Unreleased]
  • Spoonie Gee – Mighty Mike [Marley Remix]
- Irish Craig - RandomRapRadio