Traffic Jam

WQHT (97.1 FM)
New York, NY, USA

This tape (only 40 mins long unfortunately) is one of my favourites for the following reasons:
  • E Rule's 'Listen Up'.
  • Evil Dee cutting up Zhane & Blackgirl acapellas over Gang Starr and Wu Tang beats and scratching his name check on 'Crooklyn'.
  • It's got the world premier of Black Moon's 'Murder MCs', straight off the DAT from D&D studios.
  • Buckshot drops a freestyle over the 'Kaught In Da Ak' instrumental.
  • The phoned-in shout-outs give it an authentic mid-90s NYC feel and I like that sort of thing.
Considering this is from 1994 (one of the best years ever for quality Hip Hop) its strange that Buckshot mentions "taking Hip Hop back". He obviously had no idea what the future held and that any DJ playing a Bootcamp Click b-side on daytime Hot 97 in 2009 would be fired.

Track List
  • Talk Break
  • Erule – Listen Up
  • Teddy Pendergrass – Believe In Love (Phat Philli Mix)
  • Blackgirl – 90’s Girl (Blend Remix)
  • Zhane – Groove Thang (Blend Remix)
  • Crooklyn Dodgers – Crooklyn
  • Wu-Tang Clan – Can It Be All So Simple
  • Pete Rock & CL Smooth – The Main Ingredient
  • Buckshot – Freestyle
  • Black Moon – Murder MC’s
  • Buckshot – Interview
  • Groove Theory – 10 Minute High
- DJ Step One (description), Brian M. (track list)